Improvement Suggestion: build the Room of Requirement to teach how to play fortresses as a team

FireWandererFireWanderer Posts: 112 ✭✭✭
in Community Day #1 latest comment 04 June, 2020, 01:39 am.

The May Community Day, on the face of it, was a good idea. I have mentioned in the past the Fortresses were the one rallying point for the community. Having a Community Day that took advantage of the Knight Bus was a double bonus (to demonstrate the new feature while using the Fortress as a rallying point). This should have been a brilliant success.

Except ... it wasn't.

In my opinion, there were two main problems:

1. The challenges didn't correctly scale for a user's strength. I'm a level 43 maxed professor. Having me take on anything in the Ruins is a joke. At the same time, level 22 / level 7 professors trying to get the red books in the Dark levels is just cruel.
  2. There is little to nothing inside of the game that teaches people how to correctly play as a team.

I'll leave the scaling issue aside (this should still be considered!) because I want to talk about the second problem and my suggested solution.

What the game needs is a place where someone new to a profession can learn what their abilities can be, how the strategic spells help both the player and teammates, what to target, etc.

Doesn't this sound like the dueling training for Dumbledore's Army in the Room of Requirement?

What the Room would entail is a series of tasks per profession. Some examples could include:

• Who should I primarily target? Who should would be my secondary targets? Who should I leave off (if at all possible)? [yes, this is sort of pointed to by the green/red arrows and the little chart on the profession page, but the number of players I had to explain this to when meeting people tells me that it isn't being clearly identified]